The Campus Saunter

By TJ Jahns

          An aspect of sauntering outside is that no matter how many times you repeat the route it is never the same walk.  Having taken Chris’s Nature class last spring, the walk we took Thursday was rather familiar.  It was not in any way boring because of its familiarity. I was able to look for things that had changed.  Also all the walks from that class were in the afternoon; now I could see how things looked in the morning light.  We are in the same season but this is Wisconsin so no season is ever really the same.  I could pick a path and walk it every day for a year.  If I leave at the same time and go at the same pace, I would still end up with 365 different walks.  The sky would look different.  The air would feel different.  Mother Nature is fantastic at the game “Spot the Difference”. That is why the outdoors will always be my choice for sauntering.

Leave a comment